top of page
Search
  • mast3831

Project 2 Brainstorm

Updated: Dec 18, 2022

I wasn't sure what to do for project 2, but the option was given to me to go VJ with Denver Digi Land Grab for that credit. I took it in a heartbeat. I knew I wanted to practice my VJing to be more performative, because the last time I VJ'd it was more or less scripted. I had made a video that was supposed to play with a light overlay of other video. There were parts where I would then fully take over, and mix in other videos I had in VDMX. This also didn't end up working out too well because the power kept going out. I wanted to practice my ability to go somewhere, set up, and VJ to music. Some of my favorite music at the moment is a group called Machine Girl, so I knew that's what I was going to use for audio. I put on an hour long mix of one of their music, and I collected a good amount of footage I thought would be relevant, visually engaging, and also at times, funny. I used videos from some analog video glitch artists I like, lots of CRT glitches and video synthesizers, scenes from the first Resident Evil movie, Elden Ring speed run gameplay, and more. This was quite a collection of videos i had, and many of them were around 30 minutes long, which meant I got a lot of variation. I think all the footage worked really well together, and I think it worked well with the music, and I hope to keep getting better at VJing. I think it would be cool to VJ in a live camera feed of the audience, as well as VHS tapes that I have playing live, and that's something I hope to figure out in the near future.










3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page